Our Replacements have arrived


20130619-124627.jpg

This morning, I decided to take the path less traveled home from the bank. I approached the construction zone, and to my great surprise, I was greeted with SHORT Circuit’s cousin, the automated mobile stop light system.

Where did the Yield/stop Sign manager go? They replaced him with an impersonal, mechanical automated device. As I drove by, my heart was grieved momentarily, because I enjoyed waving at the yield/stop sign professional. I will miss those warm smiles, and polite waves now that Wall-E operates the mobile stop signs.

It got me thinking about the opportunity costs of automation. What are we giving up, as we propel ourselves into an automated world? Where can people go, to experience natural media ( face to face encounters?)

Leave a Reply

