Bucket List


What’s on your bucket list?

Some say, before I die, I’d like to skyDive, or travel across America on a skateboard, or some other outrageous thing that they’ve never done.  As I reflect on my bucket list, the ONE item that is on the list today is something that I have done for years.  When I was a child, my parents paid alot of money for private lessons, piano lessons to be exact.

For many years, I labored behind that ole piano, struggling to become one with the piano.  When I left home, I invested in a full sized weighted keys synthesizer, which collected dust for many years.  Each year I resolved to master the craft, but always found ‘other things’ to occupy my time.

Well today, I am looking over my list of things I’d like to do.  Skydiving, as interesting as it may be, is going to have to wait for another time. But today, I am spending some time mastering the interests I already have.    This experience reminds me of a saying ‘The Grass is often greener on the other side’   I wonder how many times it applies to our interests, and our dreams.  All too often, we see what other people are doing, and immediately we feel drawn towards their interests.  We glance at other people’s bucket list and begin scribbling what they’ve written down, and then we devote the rest of our lives, trying to find fulfillment in chancing someone else’s dream.

Today’s challenge, in keeping with the Chasing the Dream motif. Is to spend some time going over your list, crossing out the interests that aren’t really yours, and devoting more time to those that are.

Leave a Reply

